December 16, 2019, 08:01:52 AM

Author Topic: Best program for a Master 2 lifter  (Read 2296 times)

lindh

• View Profile
Best program for a Master 2 lifter
« on: December 13, 2016, 06:26:10 PM »
Hi!

I'm 56 years old and I have been working out in the gym since 1979. I would say that it has been more "bodybuilding" than strenght focus - so lower weights, no deadlift nor squats. A lot of machines and 8-12 reps per exercise.

During the last 1.5 years I've started with powerlifting as my son wanted to start. I started with 5*5 and started with Sheiko early this year. First the exel variant and then the Sheiko app. But I haven't noticed much progress the last 6 months. My benchpress haven't improved at all this year and I feel that I need to practice the deadlift more often to learn the optimal movement and build more muscle.

Besides lifting weights I give two spinning classes per week (as instructor) and do a little swimming and running in the summer.

I participated in my first competition a month ago. I'm 1.89 tall, 103kg and got 150kg in Squat, 130kg in Benchpress and 190kg in Deadlift. so pretty weak still.

So far I have used the Intermediate, medium load program which was suggested by the app, but I feel that I need to practice deadlift more than once a week. Also, my recovery is not that good.

Is it ok for someone in my situation to change for the advanced, low load program (4 days per week but fewer sets)?

All input/comments appreciated.

Borje

Wrusst

• View Profile
Re: Best program for a Master 2 lifter
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2016, 03:30:43 PM »
These are my opinions,

if your doing extras such as spinning and so forth the recovery all comes from the same bucket so you might have to use less volume to progress.