September 19, 2019, 08:50:39 PM

Author Topic: Too light overall intensity & issues with max attempts - what do you recommend?  (Read 1666 times)

Mischa

• View Profile
Hey guy,

I've just finished the Intermediate medium load program. I'm running the whole program with highly inflated maxes. Because I've been doing Bodybuilding for several years and so the overall intesity feels too light with my real maxes, so I always had more then 3 or 4 in the tank. I increased my maxes for the last cycle as follow: BP 102,5 > 105, DL 145 > 150; SQ 125 > 130.
BW: 83 kg

Now the problem is: I can handle the normal workouts without accumulating much fatigue, but my form breaks when I max out.
I got this numbers some days ago: Bench 102,5 (I have benched it with a stop for the fist time, so I think I did some progress), DL 155 (form was not optimal, maybe I could have managed 160, but did not want to injure myself - I'm still a BB), Squat 125 (I have not tried 130 because I had some issues with my knee).

So what can I do? In the next cycle I plan to go for the 4 days small load advanced program, because I think I really can handle more volume. But what about my maxes? I plan to increase them once again, also I have never reached them on a mock meet. What can I do, to learn handling more intensity, so my form do not break on the next mock meet. I just feel like sheikos programs lack intensity for me, so when I suddenly have to max out on the competition cycle, I am just not able too handle so much intensity...
What would you recommend?

Last one: I have big problems with pulling the weight from the ground. Not sure if I should integrate more deficit deadlift?

Cheer Mischa

RussianBear

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
If the problem is breaking ground, doing deficit will help. Remember good and proper technique.

was 105 (with pause and proper technique), 150 and 130 all out lifts?

If you think small load advanced is the right program, try it out and give us feedback.